727-381-9200

The Implications of the Possible Florida PIP Mandate Repeal

There is some big news percolating within the Florida personal injury law community at the present time. It is a matter of interest to attorneys, but it is something that may also have an impact on drivers throughout the Sunshine State. Before we get into it, we should set the stage with some important background information.

When most people think about the implications of an injury accident, they assume that fault is a very big factor. If you are injured because of the negligence of another driver, you can sue the other party to seek compensation for damages, right?

This is the way that it has traditionally worked, and most states do have this type of system. However, at the present time, Florida is not among them. There are 12 states in the union that are no-fault states when it comes personal injury claims after an automobile accident and Florida is one of them. As a result, drivers are required to carry $10,000 worth of personal injury protection (PIP) coverage. If you were to become injured in an accident, you would file a claim with your own insurance company. Assuming the claim was valid, and you receive treatment within 14 days of the accident, your policy would pay 80 percent of your medical expenses up to $10,000. It would also cover 60 percent of your lost wages.

The no-fault system is not very well received in some quarters, and this is one of the reasons why the vast majority of states do not use it. If a piece of legislation that is working its way through the state legislature is ultimately signed into law, Florida will no longer be one of these no-fault states.

Both the state House and the Senate are weighing legislative measures that would repeal the mandate for personal insurance protection coverage under a no-fault system. Instead, Florida drivers would be required to carry bodily injury coverage. The House bill calls for minimum coverage of $25,000, and the Senate proposal starts at $20,000, but it graduates to $25,000 in two years, and it goes up to $30,000 in 2022. Ultimately, Florida drivers who are injured in accidents through no fault of their own will have more recourse when it comes to legal actions if the no-fault system is changed.

Contact Our Firm Right Now!

If you would like to discuss a potential case with a local St. Petersburg, Florida personal injury lawyer, our doors are wide open. Plus, in addition to our location in St. Petersburg, we have offices in a number of other cities along the Gulf Coast, including Bradenton, Venice, Port Charlotte, and Punta Gorda. You can set the wheels in motion right now if you send us a quick message through our contact page..