Dealing With Personal Injury After An Auto Accident in Florida

Car accidents happen on the streets daily. No matter how careful you are, you are still prone to being a victim. Whether it is due to other people’s negligence or some car problems, an accident will affect your life as it usually leads to personal injuries.

Florida Insurance Law On Motor Vehicles

In the state of Florida, owners of a motor vehicle that has four or more wheels should have personal injury protection (PIP) insurance and property damage liability insurance. Both insurances have to be at least $10,000.

Who Are Covered?

Since the state requires PIP, it means that it is a no-fault state. It does not matter who caused the injuries. Drivers involved in accidents are eligible to use their PIP coverage.

If the accident happened in Florida, the coverage includes:

• You
• Relatives living in your house
• Some passengers who do not own a vehicle
• People that you allowed to drive your car

If it happened anywhere else in the United States or Canada, PIP covers only you and relatives living in your house. To ensure you get the proper benefits, you should receive initial services and care within 14 days after the motor vehicle accident.

What does PIP Pay?

• 80% of accident-related medical expenses
• 60% lost wages due to an accident
• $5,000 death benefit

Move To Repeal PIP

Having PIP is a great help for many victims. It reduces stress since both parties do not have to negotiate and come up with a settlement. The victim does not have the burden of proving the other party is at fault. This way, they can focus on their recovery.

Florida has been implementing the PIP law since 1979. However, on February 14, 2019, Senate Bill 1052 was filed. It aims to repeal Florida’s no-fault law. After analysis of all its provisions, the Senate Banking and Insurance Committee approved it on April 1, 2019, and moved it for hearing at the Appropriations Committee. The said bill sparked debate between people who agree and those against it. One thing is for sure, the approval of Senate Bill 1052 will change the insurance policy environment in Florida.

Eventually, the Appropriations Committee decided not to pass the bill. Therefore, Florida is still implementing the PIP law. Florida car owners can continue to have this additional protection in case of an accident.

How Can A Lawyer Help?

If you happen to be a resident of St. Petersburg, then the same Florida laws apply to you. You can file a claim in case you get personal injuries from a car accident. So, why would you even need a lawyer?

The answer is simple. A personal injury lawyer in St. Petersburg can help you with the process. He or she can better explain what you need to do. It is also possible that your PIP coverage would not cover all medical expenses, especially if you have more than a few minor injuries. A lawyer will ensure that your claim will have a successful outcome that is most beneficial to you.